Frederick County Biotech Community

Everything Biotech in Frederick County, Maryland

Scientistist & Their Desks

Posted by Jim H on November 17, 2008

I’ve been spending quite a bit of time on the web, following Twitter messages and FriendFeed and reading blogs all over the world. Mostly science based, most of them from associations made in August at SciFoo or BioBar Camp in California.  Eva posted this video, which I think you would find if you went into just about any academic lab setting here in FredCoBio

Portrait Of A Scientist – Scientist and Their Desks from Imagine Science Films on Vimeo.

And I got this Science Blog meme from Blind.Scientist.  My answers follow

The Science Blog Meme

It started here and I got it from here. Here are my responses:

1. What is your blog about?

Anything releted to Biotechnology in Frederick County, MD (and occasionally else where).

2. What will you never write about?

Biotech in Montgomery County (unless it is a company that moved from FredCo to MoCo or has ties in MoCo)

3. Have you ever considered leaving science?

Yes.  After college, I was in Sales at Xerox and selling Windows in Upstate NY.  After a couple of years I realized that I would never be happy selling office equipment, so I got a lab job.  The rest is history.

4. What would you do instead?

I’d live on a beach somewhere, just fishing all day

5. What do you think science blogging will be like in 5 years?

More interactive and more people involved.

6. What is the most extraordinary thing that happened to you because of blogging?

Getting invited to SciFoo camp and meeting all of these famous people at Google.  Mind boggling.

7. Did you write a blog post or comment you later regretted?

Yes, one time I left a comment on PIMM when I was half in the bag late one night which I retracted.  I had to pull down a blog post last week, at the request of MATAN, inviting everyone to the Ground breaking at Riverside.  I was asked to post it by a former colleague, but apparently it was a “private” invitation.

8. When did you first learn about science blogging?

I owe it all to Attila at PIMM.  I was googling about making stem cells from afterbirth and found his famous post. We already had a home blog and this inspired me to start a work blog (and since my wife doesn’t let me post on the home blog any more.)

9. What do your colleagues at work say about your blogging?

“What is a blog?”

10. Extra credit: are you able to write an entry to your blog that takes the form of a poem about your research?

Never considered it, but maybe I’ll give it a try some time.  I don’t really do research, though.  I am an operations guy who makes stuff.

One more thing I found interesting this morning, again from PIMM.  A new Science based Search engine called VALDO.  Check out the PROTOCOLS page (search term Stem Cells added by me, but you can change to whatever interests you).  It’s really good and will be added to my Protocols & SOPS page momentarily.

2 Responses to “Scientistist & Their Desks”

  1. lizfrog said

    You can post on the home blog any time you want to.

  2. [...] Posts Scientistist & Their DesksBioBeers Five recapThe New, New Life TechnologiesRumor MillAbout This BlogNature Methods a la [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

