Frederick County Biotech Community

Everything Biotech in Frederick County, Maryland

Archive for June 26th, 2009

Miscellaneous Day

Posted by Jim H on June 26, 2009

On the day that the Frederick County Commissioner voted in FAVOR of the Waste-to-Energy facility they also approved the $25K grant to Life Technologies for their expansion.  FredCoBio Unanimously (one a vote of One) approves the commissioners recommendations.

I remember that we had a WTE furnace at the University of Rochester when I was there from 1985 until 1988.  Sat right by the loading dock and burned all lab waste, as well as medical waste from the adjoining Strong Memorial Hospital (side note:  the same Strong family that owned Sugerloaf Mountain).  Even in the 80’s there was never a problem.

Another unique perspective I have, which I doubt anyone else in Frederick has, is that my house boarders the landfill and I work at 4539 Metropolitan Court, which is next door to the most likely site designated for the WTE plant.  No worries.  Then again, I grew up in a neighborhood called KodaVista in Greece, NY and had Eastman Kodak/Kodak Park energy plants visible at the top of my street.  It never bothered me, but apparently some people have made a fuss about it. At least you can still buy a house on Malden St (a detached house w/garage), where I delivered the Newspaper (now defunct Times-Union)for only $67K

Anyway, I hope to see some of you tomorrow at the MdBio Golf outing at Whiskey Creek.  if you’re not in yet, it’s probably too late.  And if I don’t see you there, maybe we can hook up at International Business Wales, Washington Mission Portal on Friday?

Has anyone else noticed the massive Marketing campaign by SABiosciences?  They’re all over GEN News and Biotechniques this month.  Just an observation.  Must finish taking care of my stem cells today since I’ll be busy the next couple days.

I promise, I will set a date for BioBeers in July.  Maybe second week?


Posted in bizzare, Business, Events, Expansion, Jobs, News, Rants | 1 Comment »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.